Debut Album "Count to Five" out on Innova Records

Recap is a new percussion quartet from a new generation of musicians dedicated to music reflecting the diverse society we live in today. Arlene Acevedo, Alexis Carter, Tiahna Sterling and Aline Vasquez, four musicians from Rahway, NJ, forms Recap through music, friendship and a desire to share their unique story. As recent alumni of Mantra Youth Percussion, the free-tuition teenage ensemble of Mantra Percussion, Inc., the members of Recap worked closely for several years with different music creators, performing both in their community as well as nationally, learning skills that would provide the groundwork for establishing their own group.

Now as a newly-formed professional ensemble, Recap headlines the 2021 New Music Gathering in Minneapolis, MN and releases their debut album “Count to Five” on Innova Recordings with premiere recordings of music by Angelica Negron, Allison Loggins-Hull, Ellen Reid, Lesley Flanigan, Mary Kouyoumdjian, and Caroline Shaw. Recap will showcase select pieces from the album at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Indianapolis, IN in November 2021, continuing with winter and spring 2022 dates across the country.

In July 2022, Recap will embark on a tour in the Kenai Peninsula and Alaskan Beringia regions to perform a work created through interdisciplinary artistic collaborations with indigineous artists that address the cultural, economic, and environmental challenges faced by the Alaskan Beringia region while celebrating its incredible cultural and biological diversity and natural beauty. This project is in collaboration with Bang on a Can’s Found Sound Nation, The Wildshore Festival for New Music, with financial support provided by the National Parks Service.